Volume 12 Week 5

Sunday, Feb. 17


Posted Feb. 6

Posted Jan. 9

Posted Jan. 7


Orléans Ward
Matt Luloff

Beacon Hill,
Cyrville Ward
Tim Tierney





(Posted 5:30 a.m., March 15)
Leading women/ Leading girls get special recognition

By Fred Sherwin
The Orléans Star

International Women’s Day was celebrated around the world on March 8. The event is held every year to commemorate the movement for women’s rights.

One celebration in particular was held right in the heart of Orléans as Ottawa-Orléans MPP Marie-France Lalonde hosted this year’s Leading Women/Leading Girls Building Communities award ceremony at the OCCO Kitchen restaurant on Innes Road.

Ottawa-Orléans MPP Marie-France Lalonde (centre) poses for a picture with this year’s Leading Women/Leading Girls Building Community Award recipients. Photo supplied

“Today is all about International Women’s Day and recognizing the ladies who are so powerful in our community,” explained Lalonde.

“We are awarding 18 women of all ages who have made significant contributions within the Orléans community, as leaders who volunteer their time to achieve excellence.”

The program acknowledges and cele-brates women and girls who demonstrate exceptional leadership in working to improve the lives of others in their communities.

Several recipients attempted to break down barriers and encourage their peers to get involved in careers where they are under-represented, while some were strong supporters of equality, diversity and healthy, equal relationships.

Others directed their efforts towards preventing violence against women and girls, reducing racism and discrimination, as well as encouraging them to undertake public service.

Some acted as positive role models by mentoring, coaching, leading events or organizations, while others displayed exemplary behavior to women and girls in their communities.

Leading Women Building Communities nominees must be over the age of 18 and have not received the award in the past. However, nominees who have previously received the Leading Girls Building Communities Award may be nominated for a Leading Women award if they have different accomplishments.

This year’s award recipients were Anna Hiemstra, Ashley Robitaille, Jade Traversy-Mallette, Carmen Eisenhauer, Courtney Goddard, Denyse Amyot, Marie Biron, Margaret Gilmour, Pamela Moss, Marjolaine Cote, Najat Ghannou, Nicole Lachaine, Nicole Patry, Sabine Daniel, Sarah Kennedy, Suzanne Fortier-Gour, and Zaheeda Alibhai.

The earliest Women’s Day observance was held in New York City on February 28, 1909. It was organized by the Socialist Party of America to recognize the contribution of female workers.

Two years later, the first International Women’s Day was held on March 9 and was marked by over one million people in Austria, Denmark, Switzerland and Germany. IWD was first observed in Canada in 1975.

(This story was made possible thanks to their generous support of our local business partners.)


Visit www.orleansonline.ca's main page





Click on image

Click on image




Orléans Online © 2001-2016 Sherwin Publishing