Volume 12 Week 5

Wednesday, Jan. 16


Posted Jan. 10

Posted Jan. 9

Posted Jan. 7


Orléans Ward
Matt Luloff

Beacon Hill,
Cyrville Ward
Tim Tierney

The 8th Annual Orleans Online Outstanding Youth Awards

En français

In order to be eligible, a nominee must be 17 years of age or younger as of June 30, 2014 and reside within the City of Ottawa east of St. Laurent Blvd. Nominations can come from parents, teachers, friends, coaches, social/ community workers and others.

Judging Criteria:
A seven member selection committee will review all entries submitted by the deadline date. The nominees will be judged on their accomplishments over the past year. Each judge will make a separate list of recommended award recipients. To be eligible for an award, a nominee must appear on at least four of the seven ballots. The panel decision will be final.

Selection Committee:
The selection committee includes: former Citizenship Court Judge Suzanne Pinel; former recipient Elyse Maisonneuve; Cumberland Ward Coun. Stephen Blais; Le Prélude principal Pierre Campeau; Elite Martial Arts and Karate owner Guy Oullette and JA Laporte Flowers and Nursery owner Estelle Laporte.

There are no set categories, rather individuals can be nominated in any area or field of endeavour including sports, community service/volunteerism, bravery, academics, innovation and the environment. Special consideration will be given to individuals nominated for their efforts in a combination of different areas. For instance volunteerism and athletics, or academics and athletics.

All entries must include the name, address and phone number of both the nominee and nominator as well as a résumé of the nominee's accomplishments. Entries can be sent by e-mail.

An original trophy will be presented to each recipient at a gala ceremony to be held in the auditorium at Béatrice-Desloges high school on Sunday, June 22. Those nominees not receiving an award will be presented with an honourary certificate and a special commemorative pin.

Notification of Recipients:
All recipients will be notified by phone prior to the award ceremony and their names will appear on Orleans Online.

All entries must be received by midnight on May 30, 2014.
Entries can be e-mailed to OYA@orleansonline.ca or mailed to:

Orléans Outstanding Youth Awards
c/o 745 Farmbrook Cres.
Orléans, ON K4A 2C1.

If you have any questions or require more information call Fred Sherwin at 613-447-2829 or e-mail OYA@orleansonline.ca.


Return to top

Return to Front Page


Click on image

Click on image


Orléans Online © 2001-2016 Sherwin Publishing